Thomas Paine

Thomas_Paine_portrait_900x6006

Thomas_Paine_portrait_900x6006

“When it shall be said in any country in the world, my poor are happy; neither ignorance nor distress is to be found among them; my jails are empty of prisoners, my streets of beggars; the aged are not in want, the taxes are not oppressive; the rational world is my friend, because I am the friend of its happiness: when these things can be said, then may that country boasts its constitution and its government.”– Thomas Paine

The cynic says it’s impossible.
The optimist says its the way it should be.
The pragmatist says its a goal worth striving for.

Getting older means, ideally, that you are learning more and more. And the more I learn the more frustrated I become at the way things are versus the way they ought to be. It’s never to late to change things, that much I believe. George Bernard Shaw famously wrote “Youth is wasted on the young” and I truly wish the 24 year old could have the knowledge and experience of the 44 year old. Then there may be some real possibility for change. Until then…

SOME LINKS FOR YOUR THURSDAY

Thomas Paine

Good Night Democracy

Lessons Learned About Being Open

Richard Wolff on Bill Moyers

Not All That Glitters Is Gold

OAT

Artists Take Note

Should You Work For Free

Cheers!

Signature

