One person, one vote.

Today is election day here in the states and I voted. But look, let me make this emphatically clear, I believe the president has already been chosen. I am sadly aware that my vote pretty much means shit. Not only as part of the electoral process but also because of the state I live in. It’s not a swing state, it almost always votes democratic. Fine by me. If we learned anything from the 2000 debacle it is that our vote is more less useless.

I tend to follow the Bill Hicks ideology on the presidency. If you don’t know who Bill Hicks is, you should. By the way, he was a comedian, not some conspiracy zealot or anti government nut job. Actually, he was kinda those too, but he made his living as a comedian, and easily the best comedian of my generation. Click here to listen to him explain the US Presidency.

So why vote?
I chose to vote because I am a human being. Whatever my personal feelings are towards the process, I know that people right now are fighting for AND DYING for this freedom. I have a responsibility to my fellow human beings regardless of what I believe. And to know people are willing to put their life on the line for a freedom I take for granted, that completely eradicates my personal view. Besides, what kind of asshole would that make me to so brazenly disregard something people right now are literally dying to get? So, in spite of my personal feelings about the process, I voted. I voted today not for a presidential candidate, I voted today for the people around the world who can’t. I voted today for the people who are currently fighting for democracy. And if I being honest, I voted today because it was right across the street.

Do I think our vote will one day count again for something? Yes, I do. It may not be in my lifetime, but I am a firm believer in our system and despite its current corrupt nature, I believe it will always be better than anything else.

So, if you haven’t already, please vote. If you can’t vote because you think the system is shit, then vote for the people who can’t vote and don’t have the freedom to say the system is shit.

